Note: Undo Send works by holding the email in the Outbox folder on your account for 10 seconds. After that time, the message is delivered to the recipient and cannot be recalled.

How to undo a sent email

How to enable/disable Undo Send by default

How to disable the Undo Send menu bar icon and/or the Undo Send popover?

For general information about Undo Send, check out our feature page.

 

How to undo a sent email

Note: Some email clients, like Gmail and Outlook, already have a similar feature built-in. This is why Mailbutler's Undo Send feature is currently only available for Apple Mail.
For instructions on how to recall a message sent in Apple Mail, please follow the below instructions.

You have multiple ways of stopping a message from being sent.

1. Compose your message and click on the Send button.

2. A message will pop up from your menu bar, giving you the option to recall your email or to send it immediately. Click on the Undo Send button to recall or edit your email. Click on the Send button to send the email without further delay.



3. In your Mailbutler Account Settings you can choose whether you want to have the Undo Send icon in your menu bar always, only when necessary or never (see here for more information). If you select never, you cannot recall a message from your menu bar. Instead, you can recall a message from your outbox in Apple Mail.

 

How to enable/disable Undo Send by default

1. Open Apple Mail and in the Mailbutler sidebar click on the Account Settings () button, then Account & Preferences.

2. A new window will open. Select General under Preferences in the sidebar on the left.

3. Check Undo Send to enable it. You can customise the delay sending setting by clicking on the dropdown to your preferred duration.

 

How to disable the Undo Send menu bar icon and/or the Undo Send popover

1. Open Apple Mail and in the Mailbutler sidebar click on the Account Settings () button, then Account & Preferences.

2. A new window will open. Select General under Preferences in the sidebar on the left.

3. To disable the Undo Send menu bar icon, select Never under Show menubar icon.


4. You can no longer recall a message from your menu bar. Instead, you can recall a message from your outbox in Apple Mail.

5. To disable the Undo Send popover untick the box next to "Automatically show popover".

6. You will no longer see the Undo Send popover. To recall a message, you will need to click on the Undo Send menu bar icon to display the popover.

For general information about Undo Send, check out our feature page.